jump to navigation

Summer is Over Game September 18, 2009

Posted by americanex in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Hello, my name is Deborah Garofalo and you may have seen me at the Kherson Oblast Children’s Library. I am a Peace Corps Volunteer, and I came to Ukraine to work at the Library and teach English Clubs.

It was a hot summer!  Do you know what the end of summer brings to you? It brings the beginning of the new school year.

Are you happy to go back to school? I am sure your teachers are very happy to have you there. And I am sure your moms and dads are happy you are in school again!

This is the first time I have been in Ukraine. I think many things in Ukraine are similar to things in America. For example, children in America are excited to go back to school just like you. Other things are very different in America, such as the language and the food.

Would you like to guess what is the same in America as in Ukraine this time of year? Play the game below and see how high you score!

Where Do I Live?

1. I have gotten too tall for some of my cloths. So I am buying new cloths to wear to school. Where do I live?

  • America
  • Ukraine
  • Both America and Ukraine

2. I want to go to the beach and swim, but my parents say the water is getting cold and so is the weather. Where do I live?

  • America
  • Ukraine
  • Both America and Ukraine

3. I got very dressed up for the first day of school. We had a big party in the afternoon. I took my teacher flowers. Where do I live?

  • America
  • Ukraine
  • Both America and Ukraine

4. I ride the school bus to school. Before I could ride the bus, I had to learn all the rules about school bus safety. Where do I live?

  • America
  • Ukraine
  • Both America and Ukraine

5. Almost everyday I have home tasks to do after school. I would rather be outside playing. Where do I live?

  • America
  • Ukraine
  • Both America and Ukraine

6. I used to stay light out until very late in the day. Now, it gets dark early and I have less time to play outside. Where do I live?

  • America
  • Ukraine
  • Both America and Ukraine

See the answers below to see how many you got correct.

  1. Both America and Ukraine
  2. Both America and Ukraine
  3. Ukraine
  4. America
  5. Both America and Ukraine
  6. Both America and Ukraine

If you got 6 answers correct, you are really smart. If you would like to practice your English and learn about America, come to the Library for our English Clubs.

On Two Sundays each month the Library has English Clubs. You can join us at the next English Club on September 27. Students  in the 1st to 5th form meet at 10 a.m.  Students who speak at the intermediate level meet at 11 a.m. Advanced English speakers meet at 12 p.m. We meet in the Foreign Literature Department.

Below are some books I recommend you read. You can find these books at the Library in the Foreign Literature Department.

Easy Reading:

  • 51J%2BI%2B6%2B4IL._AA75_[1]The Cat in the Hat
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • Miss Spider’s Tea Party61PJ343YSHL._AA75_[1]

Intermedicate Reading:

  • 51RTH8NJK0L._AA75_[1]The Last of the Mohicans
  • 51TD%2BP%2BsBQL._AA75_[1]Annie and the Old One

Advanced Reading:

  • Hope Was Here
  • Charlotte’s Web

See you on September 27th. 

 

Comments»

1. Nataliya - September 18, 2009

Deborah, I congratulate you with the successful start!

2. om222 - September 22, 2009

Hi! Welcome to the library”s blogs!

3. Edwin Panama - February 3, 2010

Hello. Fantastic job, if I wasn’t so busy with my school work I read your full site. Thanks!

4. chrome - November 10, 2010

I can tell that you are very knowlegeable. We are launching a web site soon, as well as your information will be very useful for me personally.. Thanks for all your help as well as wishing everybody the accomplishment in your business.


Leave a Reply

