jump to navigation

Halloween is spooky fun and candy! October 23, 2009

Posted by americanex in holidays.
trackback

Have you ever wondered what Halloween means to children in America? I can tell you. It means fun and candy!

There are so many fun things that kids do on Halloween. We call them traditions, and they come from many different countries and cultures. All the traditions have melted together like hot carmel over an apple to make Halloween one of America’s best holidays of the year.

The idea for the Jack O’Lantern came from the Celtics. They believed that this day marked the end of the harvest, the end of summer and the coming together of two worlds – the living and the dead. So they would carve lanterns out of vegetables and put a candle in them to light the way for the good spirits. They called this day Samhain.

halloween-pumpkin[1]

The Scottish people in America brought the idea of telling ghost stories on Halloween. They also played games and would sometimes get into trouble. One of their games was bobbing for apples – dunking your head in a bucket of water with apples in it and trying to bite an apple without using your hands. Sounds likes fun, and it is.

The English and the Irish used to go around begging for food and money on this day. That is where the idea of going house to house asking for candy came from. We call it Trick or Treat!

When I was growing up, I would go to every house in the neighborhood saying, “Trick or Treat.” By the end of the evening, I would have a pillowcase full of candy! My mom always looked at the candy before I could eat it. She wanted to check it and make sure it was not already opened, which might mean that someone bad put poison in it. You can never be too careful!

halloween-treat[1]

Unfortunately, Trick or Treat had to come to an end for me….I got too old! Once I turned 13 years old, which is considered a “teenager” in America, I had to stop going out for Trick or Treat. But I had a lot of fun handing out candy to the kids that came to our house. And…..I got to eat as much of the candy we bought to hand out as I wanted! All was not lost!

Do you have any fun traditions for Halloween? Write on my blog and let me know what they are. I would love to hear from you!

Comments»

1. Riddy - October 23, 2009

Цікаво було довідатись про походження та історію Геловіна, його кельтське “коріння”. Прикольне таке свято!

2. Oksana - October 26, 2009

Dear Debora! Thank you very much for so funny cool and amazing Halloween. All the children were happy at the party! Big HI from Jaroslav, Sophia and Masha! It was first Halloween in their life!


Leave a Reply

